Posted by: Andrew | May 18, 2011

Overseas is sooo exotic

I’ve often been frustrated that Christians seem to find mission work overseas more exciting than mission work here in the UK. Consequently it tends to get a higher profile and more funding. I’ll never forget being in church (not my current one) when someone prayed for the real missionaries working overseas.

So I was both encouraged and disappointed by a conversation I had with my good friend Musharraf who works for a Muslim charity. I was asking for advice on how to raise funds for a Muslim worker. He sighed and said the trouble is people only want to give for work overseas. I can raise money for work in Pakistan or Bangladesh but people aren’t interested in the needs we have here.

Another similarity between the faiths!

Leave a Reply

Categories

